Mrs. Laura Beese

Mrs. Laura Beese's picture
Directory Information
Job Position: 
Phone Number: 
970-488-4582
Room Number: 
Room 208
About Me
Education and Experience: 
University of Oklahoma: Bachelor’s in Music Education
Colorado State University: Master’s of Music with Kodaly Emphasis
Orff Levels Training: The San Francisco School & Arizona State University
Biography: 

After graduating from the University of Oklahoma, I taught music at Roosevelt Elementary in Norman. My husband and I left Oklahoma on a year-and-a-half quest to bicycle to all fifty states. As part of that trip, we fell in love with Eugene, Oregon and settled in for five years where I taught K-5 music in the Bethel School District. In Eugene, I also played French horn and Tenor horn with community bands and played Steel Pans in an all-female performing group called “Steel Magnolias.” When my husband was invited to work in Silicon Valley, we moved to California where I taught for two years at Bullis Charter School in Los Altos. At Bullis I collaborated with classroom teachers on project-based learning units and started a Steel Pan ensemble with 3rd-8th graders. During my time in California I also began an online Master’s program at CSU and spent summers in Fort Collins on campus. My husband and I fell in love with the community and were eager to move closer to family. After a year spent traveling by bicycle around the world, we finally settled in Fort Collins and have been here for three years where I have taught at K-5 Music, and led Little Kids Rock and Choir ensembles at Eyestone Elementary in Wellington.

We have a one-year-old daughter who will eventually be a Shepardson Star so I am beyond excited to be joining this amazing team! At the core of my approach to music education is the belief that music is an inherently cooperative activity that helps children develop prosocial skills and connect positively to their peers. I design my curriculum in service of this philosophy, providing as many opportunities as possible for students to collaborate through singing, playing, dancing, improvising, and creating.

Interests & Hobbies: 

Running, cycling, reading, cooking, and spending time with my family and friends.